• Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
French (Fr)English (United Kingdom)

Cocumont / Dessenheim : a twinning through history.

Print PDF
COCUMONT / DESSENHEIM : linked since 1939

It was Friday 1st September 1939. Faced with the Nazi menace, Alsace was evacuated. Provided with a few things to eat and light luggage, the population of Dessenheim (in the canton of Neuf-Brisach in the Haut-Rhin Department) joined the long convoy of refugees which was being organised. There were thousands of them on foot, on bicycles or in horse-drawn carts. It was 16.30, the destination unknown …

Fernand Meyer lived through this time; he remembers : « we were 520 people from Dessenheim (344 adults and 176 children). After walking for 10km, there was a halt for a first night in exile. The next day we set off again towards Colmar, circling the town to the North to the wine-producing village of Kientzheim for a stay of three days. On the morning of the 5th of September, the convoy set out again to go the station at Benwihr. There we were crammed into cattle trucks with bales of straw, with no toilets or lighting, to go to the South-West of France. Two days later, on the afternoon of 7th September, our train entered the station at Marmande. »

The local authorities having requisitioned the availables lorries, cars and buses, the population of Dessenheim was transported to Cocumont in the late evening. The list of names contained 514 people, 6 having been lodged in a neighbouring commune. « Arriving at about 9 o'clock in the evening, we were lodged in the Mairie, the school, the Convent and the hairdresser's ... It was only the next day that we were divised amongst the host families of the commune. »

The enforced exile would last for thirteen months. On 28th September 1940, the population of Dessenheim returned to Alsace, not without having forged some indissoluble bonds of friendship...

The exchanges between the two communes increased at the beginning of the 1980s through the basketball clubs. In 1990, Léon Schatt, Mayor of Dessenheim and Roger Boyancé, Mayor of Cocumont, signed the official Oath of twinning. Since then, every three years it has generated warm reunions in whitch are mixed frienship, brotherhood and the duty of remembering.

              August 2012 : At Cocumont, the two communes renewed the oath of twinning.

Link to Dessenheim web site
You are here: AN ATTRACTIVE VILLAGE A twinning through history

• Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • Augmenter la taille
  • Taille par défaut
  • Diminuer la taille
French (Fr)English (United Kingdom)

Un jumelage par l'histoire

Imprimer PDF
  • COCUMONT / DESSENHEIM : liés depuis 1939

C’était le vendredi 1er septembre 1939. Face à la menace nazie, l’Alsace est évacuée. Munie de quelques vivres et de bagages légers, la population de Dessenheim (Haut-Rhin, canton de Neuf-Brisach) se mêle au long convoi de réfugiés qui s’organise. Ils sont des milliers à pied, à vélo, ou en charrettes tirées par des chevaux. Il est 16h30, la destination est inconnue…

Fernand Meyer a vécu ce moment ; il se souvient : « Nous étions 520 Dessenheimois (344 adultes et 176 enfants). Après 10km de marche, ce fut la halte pour une première nuit d’exil. Le lendemain, nous sommes repartis en direction de Colmar, contournant la ville par le nord jusqu’au village viticole de Kientzheim pour une halte de trois jours. Au matin du 5 septembre, le convoi s’est remis en route pour rejoindre la gare de Benwihr. Là, nous nous sommes entassés dans des wagons à bestiaux garnis de bottes de paille, sans toilettes ni éclairage, en direction du Sud-Ouest de la France. Deux jours plus tard, dans l’après-midi du 7 septembre, notre train entrait en gare de Marmande. »

Les autorités locales ayant réquisitionné les camions, voitures et autobus disponibles, la population de Dessenheim fut acheminée jusqu’à Cocumont en fin de soirée. La liste nominative fait état de 514 personnes, 6 ayant été logées dans une commune voisine. « Arrivés vers 9h du soir, nous avons été logés à la mairie, à l’école, au couvent, au salon de coiffure… Ce n’est que le lendemain que nous avons été répartis dans les familles de la commune d’accueil. »

Un exil forcé qui devait durer treize mois. Le 28 septembre 1940, la population de Dessenheim regagnait l’Alsace, non sans avoir noué des liens d’amitié indélébiles…

Les échanges entre les deux communes s’accentueront au début des années 1980, par l’intermédiaire des clubs de basket. En 1990, Léon Schatt, maire de Dessenheim et Roger Boyancé, maire de Cocumont, signeront officiellement le Serment de Jumelage. Depuis, il donne lieu, tous les trois ans, à de chaleureuses retrouvailles où se mêlent l’amitié, la fraternité et le devoir de mémoire.

              4, 5 et 6 Juillet 2012 : à Cocumont, les deux communes ont renouvelé le serment de jumelage

Lien vers le site internet de la commune de Desseheim
Vous êtes ici : UN VILLAGE ATTRACTIF Un jumelage par l'histoire