• Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
French (Fr)English (United Kingdom)

Vine and wine

Print PDF
 
Festi_V._2010

2010 allowed the wine growers of the Marmandais to renew a strongly anchored festive tradition:


the organisation of the wine festival.

 

FESTI VINO "Two" !

Organised by the ODG (Organisme de Défense et de Gestion de l’Appellation Marmandais) and supported by the communes of Beaupuy and Cocumont, as well as by the local authorities (VGA – the local administrative area –, the Departmental Council and the Regional Council), this first event of a new era had the merit of bringing together all the players involved in wine production (members of the Cooperative and independent wine-makers) and the institutions in a joint wish to support wine production, a sector which is particularly fragile economically. Organised at Cocumont, around a large local producers’ market and with a high quality artistic programme, this first event was a huge popular success.

The date is already fixed for a Festi Vino "Two" on 30 and 31 July 2011 at Cocumont!

 


Through the Centuries…

The history of Cocumont has always been intimately linked to that of its vineyards. Around the Old Church, Benedictine monks, builders and winemakers, exploited this land from the 11th century onwards. But it is reasonable to think that wine growing had already developed from the 3rd or 4th century AD. Under the influence of a great expansion of water-borne trade in the valley of the Garonne during the Middle Ages the wines of the "High Country", competitors but complementary to the production of the Bordeaux region, benefitted from the growth of trade with England. The wines of Cocumont reached the port of Bordeaux via the Garonne at Couthures. The areas of wine growing recorded in the commune varied greatly according to the vagaries of the economic situation. From 112 hectares recorded in 1672, the vineyards of the commune reached 630 hectares in 1907!

From the Uncertainties of the 19th century to the miracle of cooperation ...

The phylloxera crisis (1876) did not spare the vineyards of Aquitaine. In the Marmande region, the vineyards were patiently restored. Equally they survived the grave crisis of the overproduction of wine in 1907 but could no longer profit from the label "Bordeaux Wine". From then on the wines of the Marmande region were going to have to make a name for themselves!

In 1955, the label VDQS Côtes du Marmandais was created. On the left bank of the Garonne, Cocumont was the only commune to affirm its wine-producing vocation. Two years later, the Cave de Cocumont (Wine Cooperative) was born.

For more than 40 years it was to be the locomotive of an appellation which would join the prestigious family of the A.O.C on the 2nd of April 1990.

 

 

Mergers and Restructuring: the new challenges of the 21st century.

 

At the dawn of the 21st century, Cocumont had become the premier wine-producing commune in the Marmande region, but more than that, in the Lot-et-Garonne! Here, the vine is everywhere. This patrimony is the result of a mastery of expertise and an exceptional terrain! Several independent winemakers add to the reputation of the appellation. Members of the Cooperative and independents are grouped together under the aegis of the ODG Côtes du Marmandais (organisation for regulation and management).

The municipal council of Cocumont has adopted a new logo and motto: "Cocumont, Terroir d’Aquitaine". The streets of our village take the melodious names of old grape varieties found in the commune before 1960: rue de la Moustousère, rue de la Dame blanche, avenue de la Folle rouge…

But the world-wide wine crisis which has hit wine production hard obliges our appellation to adapt.

In 2004, the Cave of Beaupuy and that of Cocumont merged, giving birth to the Cave du Marmandais. Since 2005, the vineyard has restructured. Some uprooting is trying to provide an answer to the problems created by the crisis (overproduction and over stocking).

In a difficult world-wide economic context, Marmandais wine-production has to ride out the storm. It is obliged to adapt to the demands and the new challenges of this century as it has always been able to do throughout its long and prestigious history….

 

In 2006, the municipal council of Cocumont wanted to promote this terrain of Cocumont. A 15 minute documentary video was produced about the vineyard, its history and its involvement in the village.

 

 La vigne toute une histoire
Vidéo : Bernard LATASTE
Textes : Jean-Luc ARMAND
Voix off : Véronique Mattera-Manent, Jodie Manent et Denis Mourguet

You are here: AN ATTRACTIVE VILLAGE Vine and wine

• Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • Augmenter la taille
  • Taille par défaut
  • Diminuer la taille
French (Fr)English (United Kingdom)

La vigne et le vin

Imprimer PDF

JavaScript est désactivé!
Pour afficher ce contenu, vous devez utiliser un navigateur compatible avec JavaScript.

Depuis 2010, FESTIVINO aura permis aux Vignerons du Marmandais de renouer avec une tradition festive fortement ancrée :

l’organisation de la fête du vin.

FESTI VINO : un gros succès !

Portée par l’ODG (Organisme de Défense et de Gestion de l’Appellation Marmandais) et soutenue par les communes de Beaupuy et de Cocumont, ainsi que par les collectivités territoriales (VGA, Conseil Général et Conseil Régional), cette  manifestation d’une ère nouvelle a le mérite de fédérer tous les acteurs du milieu viticole (coopérateurs et indépendants) et les Institutionnels dans une même volonté de soutien à la viticulture, filière particulièrement fragilisée sur le plan économique. Organisée à Cocumont, autour d’un grand marché des producteurs de pays et dotée d’une programmation artistique de grande qualité, cette fête désormais fixée au dernier week-end de juillet, connaît un énorme succès populaire attirant plusieurs milliers de personnes sur les deux jours.  


Au cours des siècles…

L’histoire de Cocumont a toujours été intimement liée à celle de son vignoble. Autour de la Vieille Eglise, des moines bénédictins, bâtisseurs et vignerons, ont exploité cette terre à partir du 11ème siècle. Mais on peut raisonnablement penser que la culture de la vigne s’était déjà développée ici à partir du 3ème ou 4ème siècle après Jésus-Christ. Sous l’influence d’une forte expansion du commerce fluvial en vallée de Garonne, au cours du Moyen Age, les vins du " Haut Pays ", concurrents mais complémentaires de la production bordelaise, vont bénéficier de l’essor du commerce avec l’Angleterre. Les vins de Cocumont rejoindront le port de Bordeaux par la Garonne couthuraine. Les superficies viticoles recensées sur la commune varieront largement au gré des aléas économiques. De 112 hectares recensés en 1672, le vignoble communal atteindra 630 hectares en 1907 !

Des aléas du 19ème au miracle de la coopération ...

La crise du phylloxéra n’épargnera pas les vignobles aquitains (1876). Dans le Marmandais, le vignoble sera patiemment reconstitué. Il survivra également à la grave crise de surproduction viticole de 1907 mais ne pourra plus profiter de la dénomination " Vin de Bordeaux ". Dès lors, les vins du Marmandais vont devoir se faire un nom !

En 1955, l’appellation VDQS Côtes du Marmandais est créée. Sur la rive gauche de la Garonne, Cocumont est la seule commune à affirmer sa vocation vigneronne ! Deux ans plus tard, la Cave de Cocumont voit le jour.

Elle va être pendant plus de 40 ans la locomotive d’une appellation qui entrera dans la prestigieuse famille des A.O.C. le 2 avril 1990.

Fusions et restructurations : les nouveaux défis du 21ème siècle.

A l’aube du 21ème siècle, Cocumont est devenue la première commune viticole du Marmandais, mais au-delà, du Lot-et-Garonne ! Ici, la vigne est partout. Ce patrimoine est l’héritage d’un savoir-faire maîtrisé et d’un terroir d’exception ! Quelques vignerons indépendants apportent à l’Appellation un surcroît de notoriété. Coopérateurs et indépendants sont regroupés au sein de l’O.D.G. Côtes du Marmandais (Organisme de Défense et de Gestion).

La Municipalité de Cocumont adopte un nouveau logo et sa devise : "Cocumont, Terroir d’Aquitaine". Les rues de notre village prennent des noms chantants d’anciens cépages présents dans la commune avant 1960 : rue de la Moustousère, rue de la Dame blanche, avenue de la Folle rouge…

Mais la crise viticole mondiale qui frappe durement la viticulture oblige notre Appellation à s’adapter.

En 2004, la cave de Beaupuy et celle de Cocumont fusionnent donnant naissance à la cave du Marmandais. Depuis 2005, le vignoble se restructure. Des arrachages tentent d’apporter une réponse aux problèmes nés de la crise (surproduction et stocks).

Dans un contexte économique mondial difficile, la viticulture marmandaise fait le dos rond. Elle s’efforce de s’adapter aux exigences et au nouveau défi de ce siècle, comme elle a toujours su le faire au cours de sa longue et prestigieuse histoire…

En 2006, la municipalité de Cocumont a souhaité mettre en avant ce terroir de Cocumont. Un documentaire vidéo de 15 minutes a été réalisé sur l'état du vignoble, son histoire, son implication dans le village.

 La vigne toute une histoire
Vidéo : Bernard LATASTE
Textes : Jean-Luc ARMAND
Voix off : Véronique Mattera-Manent, Jodie Manent et Denis Mourguet

Vous êtes ici : UN VILLAGE ATTRACTIF La vigne et le vin